If you've ever sent a message to the wrong group chat, you'll be familiar with WhatsApp's "unsend" feature.
As long as you realise your error quickly enough, you can delete the message without anybody ever seeing - or so we thought. Tech guru ' Ta Tech Tips ' has now shared a video explaining exactly how you can view deleted messages on your Android device, and it's very easy to do.
In a video on TikTok, he said: "We've all been in a chat where someone has deleted a message and you're dying to know what it says". He then explains that if you're on an Android device, it's as simple as opening the Settings app on your phone.
READ MORE: Three things WhatsApp users should do to avoid losing money
Then all you have to do is search "notification history" and turn it on, the Daily Star reports. This means that when you get a message that is deleted later on, you'll still be able to view it through your notification history.
You can do this by opening the settings app again, heading to notifications history and tapping 'recently dismissed' any time you want to see what has been removed. Sadly, the trick doesn't work on iPhone as it doesn't have a notification log feature, but this might change in future.
Deleting messages allows you to remove certain messages from individual or group chats after you've sent them. You tap and hold a message then press delete. Doing so will replace the deleted message with a notification saying "This message was deleted".
You only have seven minutes to remove a message after sending it, so make sure you do it quickly.
Receive newsletters with the latest news, sport and what's on updates from the Liverpool ECHO by signing up here